The Future’s Too Fluid for Foresight. (And I’m potentially too lazy for this.)

You’ve been granted the power to predict the future! The catch — each time you use your power, it costs you one day (as in, you’ll live one day less). How would you use this power, if at all?

I think I’ll pass, thanks.

Plus, if I’m reading the prompt right, I’d run the risk of pointlessly playing Cassandra; plus PLUS, if many people can do this, what if my predictions counter someone else’s? Which future is it going to be? Will the universe pick a side or split the difference? And if I see something, is it going to happen naturally or is there some action required on my part to help it come to pass? Could I seriously screw with that future by inadvertently trying to make it happen? Mostly the whole idea reeks of suddenly having a knack for astrology or something like that–potentially really cool, but just too open-ended and subjective to be useful or worth it in the end.

I’m not crazy about the cost of the whole endeavor, either. Yes, life is precious and I shouldn’t waste a minute of it. But I’ve probably got some bad habits that are knocking off days left and right without my even being aware of it; no need to knowingly do so just for the chance to see who’ll win the World Cup in a few years or at what point we finally hit the big red button and cease to exist as a species. Yeah, I’ll definitely pass. There are more fun ways to lose a day or two.

2 thoughts on “The Future’s Too Fluid for Foresight. (And I’m potentially too lazy for this.)

  1. I laughed aloud at your last sentence. There ARE more fun ways to lose a day or two! (Where IS that lost shaker of salt?) On a more serious note, I enjoyed your thoughts on the subject as well. Thanks L

    Like

Leave a comment