And the Beat Goes On…

I recently read a post (you can check it out here, and you should definitely check out the photography while you’re there) in which the author admits to some pretty embarrassing music that lurks on her playlists; those songs add up to awesome taste in music, I think. I tend to rejoice in the potentially “uncool” or “dorky” things—in quotation marks because I never see it that way—I do, say, and play. What’s life without giving the thirty-year class reunion crew and my future adolescent progeny some ammo, right?

My own taste runs the gamut from classical to bubblegum pop to novelty songs. I have multiple Katy Perry, Ke$ha, and Lady Gaga songs juxtaposed with Chopin and Disney. I’m not embarrassed about any of the following songs, but I would probably take some posthumous ragging for them:

  • “2 Become 1” by the Spice Girls (I have several more, plus a tape of the group doing commentary on their music videos, and their feature film debut Spice World)
  • “Because You Live”  and “Beautiful Soul” by Jesse McCartney (I am such a sucker for songs like this; they’re easy to pull off acoustically, which means the love of my life can sing them to me whenever I want!)
  • “Crazy for This Girl” by Evan and Jaron (8th grade. ‘Nuff said)
  • “I Kissed a Girl,” “California Gurls,” and “Teenage Dream” by Katy Perry (I think I redeem myself with “Firework” and “Not Like the Movies,” though)
  • “(You Drive Me) Crazy” by the indomitable Britney
  • “Bye Bye Bye” and virtually every other song by N*Sync (I grew up during the boy band/girl power frenzy, just so you know. Also in this category is almost every song on the Backstreet Boys’ Millennium)
  • The entire “Glee” catalog, plus or minus a few (I know this one’s going to come back to haunt me)
  • “4ever” by The Veronicas (the most overt manifestation of my “Rawr!Angry girl!” phase, which also includes No Doubt and Avril Lavigne)
  • “Take It Off” by Ke$ha ( auto-tuned hot mess or not, Ke$ha’s songs are hooky and perfect for walking to class)
  • “Hoedown Throwdown” and “The Climb” from that Hannah Montana movie. (The hoedown throwdown is one of those dances any 2009 Montreat Summer Staffer needs less than 3 seconds to remember and execute perfectly)

I decided not to list all the Weird Al, Disney, Coldplay and other niche music, since those songs might actually earn me some street cred once those adolescent progeny develop taste beyond Top 40 radio. Right???

Leave a Reply

