Geek Chic

My brother was fiddling on his laptop a few days ago (before we lost internet for three days)when I heard a familiar little midi clip; no, not Mario’s theme—nobody in my family will touch Mario. I heard the intro to the Legend of Zelda “Oracle” games for game boy. Yes, I recognized those games from ten seconds of audio. Turns out, my brother found a reputable GBA emulator that allows him to play those games on his computer (we’re probably rather late to the whole emulator thing, but we’re definitely ahead of the curve in AR). My first thought was: OHMAGAWD! I want that!!

Now I have both Oracle of Seasons and Oracle of Ages; we have both of the games in real life, so we’re pretty sure we’re avoiding any sticky legal issues. I’m so excited!

The joypad’s a bit of a hassle to customize; hitting a key forcefully enough to make it register sometimes makes the key apply to more than one category. Windows Vista/7 doesn’t really like the graphics, either, but the system usually just adjusts after a few seconds. There’s nothing really special about the emulator version—which I was kinda-sorta disappointed about.

I really prefer playing these on my laptop; my screen’s bigger and my hands don’t cramp after twenty minutes of play. Plus, there’s this nifty little hack (shift+any F key) that essentially lets you  set your own save point. Now I can save right outside the boss’ lair instead of having to start from the beginning of the dungeon! It’s the lazy gamer’s dream setting. 🙂

It’s been about two hours and I’m already on the third dungeon. We’ll see if I can make it through the game and manage the transfer to Oracle of Ages. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

